Ducks, Chicken Eggs, and a Japanese Anthropologist

We have ducks in our compound. They are the cutest things ever! After it rains you can gaze out from the patio and watch them waddling around, wagging their tails in excitement and diving into puddles. All day they are there. You sit on a bench under the Neem tree and one walks past your leg looking for food.
My extended Jaxate family.

I have forgotten many Wolof words being taught to me because I was distracted by the cute little things.

A good African story (but not mine): one of my site mates was escaping the rain with her family including, unbeknown to them, one of their chickens. Upon entering her room a good while after the rain had started she found that chicken on her bed…with it’s newly laid egg. Gross, right?! Her brother just shrugged and said, it’s yours. Eat it!

Yesterday I met Sato. A cultural anthropology graduate student from Japan. He lives in the next village over and speaks decent French, some Wolof (probably good Wolof, but I need more time with him to tell), and some English. With three broken languages and a common love of anthropololgy I had my most dynamic conversation to date. In the end we exchanged numbers and have plans to bond over a couple of (hopefully cold) beers. It is a crazy world here in Senegal.

My training site-mates and language instructor, Bamba.
Say something!!!...

