Running to the Book of Kells

Our last official touring day in Ireland lacked prime photo-taking opportunities, but the two sites we visited were still awesome: the Rock of Cashel and the Book of Kells at Trinity College, Dublin.

The first was a great site! However, the temple was under construction and it was hard to take any photos without beams everywhere. The Rock of Cashel is a must visit. There are tons of different buildings to see there and hundreds of years of history. But don’t worry if you are in a rush as it is a pretty quick stop. Everything is compact and easy to access. There isn’t any climbing to do and it is basically a brief jaunt around the grounds and then you are done. The wooden ceilings in some of the smaller out-buildings are great so don’t forget to look up!

We booked it to Dublin after that in the hopes of making it to Trinity College before five to see the Book of Kells. We just made it with enough time for some gift shopping afterwards. I don’t have pictures of this either because it isn’t allowed. Still, go! The long hall of the old library is incredible! I’ve never seen something so amazing in my life. Seriously. I know that I’m pretty positive about most things I write about on this blog, but this room has only been found in my dreams until now. Even if you don’t care about the Book of Kells, go to the library at Trinity College. You won’t regret it.

I did get a picture of some of the other buildings on the campus so that I had something to share, but they are full of people wandering about. The last day really was great, just not for photos.

Thus concludes the Ireland trip. I have a few more posts specifically about the black taxi tour of Belfast that I haven’t posted because they deserve much more thought than my usual diary-style blog posts. I may also included a post about my thoughts on Ireland in general: geology, archaeology, and culture. I have a few ideas I want to put forward.

Still, don’t expect them yet. I can’t guarantee that I’ll be in the mood for more posts in the next few days. I have TONS of laundry to do, a ball to attend on Friday, a wedding to finish planning for July (so excited to be Mrs. Jon), and some baby planning to do for September. Not that I’ll be doing all of that in the next few days, but I have a lot on my mind. Still, another blog post could happen.

Until the next adventure!

Cheers, All!

One thought on “Running to the Book of Kells

Say something!!!...

